Rainy Days

Ever since I was a little girl I have loved being inside, in my case then it was inside my classroom, while it was raining outside.  There was such a peaceful, self-contained feeling, like being in a ship sailing along on the seas. Inside all was bright and cheerful, filled with the happy sound of learning, and best of all was when we had projects we were busy working on.   I felt so safe.  I still feel that way to this day.  Rainy days make me very cheerful when I am at work.  It would be difficult to be outside in the rain, so we hunker down inside where it is dry and cozy.

It has to be just the right kind of rain.  I do not like thunderstorms and lightening.  All of my peaceful feeling disappears as I nervously scan the sky to see what is coming next.  I suppose you could compare the feeling more to being on a rollercoaster full of scary little screamy moments, but I do not like rollercoasters.

Some people may feel the same about a grey day when it is quiet, with sounds muffled by fog, and you are busy inside working.  There is no sadness about being out and missing a sunny day and you might as well be at work, but I abhor grey days.  They are neither here nor there and make me feel so blah. If they would just muster up enough oopmph to give us a nice soothing steady rain, or blow away entirely and leave us with a sunny day that would be perfect!

Author: jet197

A Spanish speaking elementary resource teacher, single mom with two grown kids and a pasión for the outdoors and books. I am a big curious question mark always pondering with a penchant for poetry.

6 thoughts on “Rainy Days”

  1. The perfect rainy day – a nice steady rain, no wind, no lightening, no thunder. Peaceful rain dripping on a metal roof. Nice slice, it brought me peace.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

