Cheesesticks and Brofists

Yesterday I was standing outside on recess duty keeping an eye on the children skittering and scattering across the playground in an ever-changing mosaic.  I found myself looking at the plain brick wall of the school building, and I was suddenly surprised by a spreading feeling of peace.  I felt that I was exactly where I belonged, and that it was home to me.  As I enjoyed that unexpected gift I started remembering some of the funny kid stories I have seen, and I thought I would share a few with you here today.

One day in the late Fall this year when I went to pick up one of my 4th grade boys at 8:30 in the morning, he was wearing his jacket.  “Are you cold?” I asked him, a little surprised.

“No,” he answered.  “Today is cheese sticks for lunch in the cafeteria and every time we have those we have to go outside and it’s cold today!”  Recently we had several times when the fire alarm sounded due to smoke from the cafeteria oven.  He had put two and two together and noticed that it appeared to be the cheese sticks causing the smoke!  I loved the reasoning skills!

Several years ago my weekly spelling test was enlivened by a very unexpected discovery as I was correcting them.  The last word on the test had been “I’m” but this second grader  had a few more to add.

img_1238

 

Yes, he was!  This same second grader illustrated a realistic fiction narrative he was writing with a picture that left me grinning:

img_0636

As teachers we know how difficult the grading is, and how difficult it is when you are absent and have to catch up.  One day as I was plowing through a stack of papers to correct I found the following sweet and startling surprise among the papers:

img_2275

Back on the playground yesterday a first grade boy pulled me away from my reverie.  He was sitting on the ground with one pants leg pulled up.  “Do you want to see my knee dance?” he asked

“Sure, ” I said.  It sounded like the offer of a lifetime.

He proceeded to sing Yankee Doodle while twitching the muscle of his knee to make his knee cap jump in time to his singing.

“It’s funny, right?” he asked.  Yes, it sure was!

We spend so much of our lives at work and I am lucky to have it feel so comfortable for me.  I hope you all have the same wherever you may work.

 

Author: jet197

A Spanish speaking elementary resource teacher, single mom with two grown kids and a pasión for the outdoors and books. I am a big curious question mark always pondering with a penchant for poetry.

9 thoughts on “Cheesesticks and Brofists”

  1. Such sweet memories that we need to hold on to — to remind us why we do what we do. Happy to hear that you found your home away from home. It’s a good feeling, isn’t it?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

