Math Tutor?

I do not have a good relationship with math.  As a matter of fact, I hate it.  It gives me hives and makes me want to hide under the bed.  I just could not be bothered to learn my facts when I was in school, and the ones that I did learn had an annoying habit of dissapearing when I needed them.  I’m sure the intense anxiety I felt when faced with math did not help me to be available to learn.  And my poor father.  He would spend hours every night sweating over my homework with me.  I can still hear him saying “The rules don’t change Jan!”  Why couldn’t I remember them when I moved from problem to problem?

My problem with numbers extends to the numbers of highways.  I-290 AND I-294 guys??  Really?  You have to be kidding me!  How an I supposed to remember which of those numbers I want to drive on?  I would try to fix the road number I wanted in my head, but then those slippery little devils would insist on sliding around and changing position.  I had number soup in the brain and a certain anxiety of being lost and never coming home again!  Why couldn’t they have given the highways nice names like Buttercup and Aspen, for example, so I could have a fighting chance?

I didn’t know if I would graduate college because of math.  I had to take a running start with some remedial classes.  I worked very hard and each semester my grade went down one level, but I managed to pull that C in College Algebra and rejoiced that I would never have to face math again in my life!  Or so I thought…

Recently I was asked to tutor a child in math.  I had tutored her older brother and her mom informed me that her daughter only wanted me, and no one else.  Oh the irony!  Here I am on the other side of the math struggling equation.  I fear not being able to help–kind of the blind leading the blind.  But on the other hand, I hope that I am the perfect person for the job.  I can share my own struggles, and I have complete empathy.  I can tell them that they can be a smart wonderful person even if those pesky math numbers are only visitors and not permanent residents in their brains.

 

Author: jet197

A Spanish speaking elementary resource teacher, single mom with two grown kids and a pasión for the outdoors and books. I am a big curious question mark always pondering with a penchant for poetry.

9 thoughts on “Math Tutor?”

  1. Oh my goodness, this slice made me chuckle. I love the way you describe your relationship with numbers. I think you are absolutely the best person for the job. You will know exactly what she needs to hear to help her get through her struggles.

    Like

  2. Kudos to you for taking on this tutoring. Yes I think you will be the perfect match for a struggling student. Your math may not be so good, but your writing is wonderful and enjoyable to read. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I remember my father talking to me about interstate numbers. Odd ones go north and south; even ones go east and west. And that’s mostly true. However, we have a “beltway” around the capital city of PA and guess what? They’re all odd numbered interstates and state routes. So that went out the window!?!?

    I’m not a big math person either. You should check out Elisabeth Ellington’s blog post today. She, too, isn’t a big fan of math! thedirigibleplum.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Again, what a twist of events. I love that you share your distaste for math, but then agree to be a math tutor! I think it could also be a learning experience for you both and strengthen your math skills too! We are doing first grade “common core” math at home and learning so much. 🙂 I think it’s awesome that you can share in the growth mindset about math … and remember, there are letters in math too:
    a + b = c, right? Best of luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Why yes, there are letters! I wonder if there is a code to make any math equation into a poignant or funny poem? But I did have the most fun I’ve ever had with math with my student and it was indeed empowering for me too. Thanks for your thoughtful comment!

      Like

Leave a Reply

