On Snow

IMG_5927

Oh snow…  I took the above picture in the Cedar grove at the Morton Arboretum on December 1st.  It was the first snowfall of the season and it was absolutely magical.  Being there in the silence with my daughter while the heavy snow piled up made for a perfect experience.  Several weeks later we went to see the Nutcracker Ballet performed by Moscow’s Ballet.  When we went outside it was snowing hard, and I half expected to see Clara and her Prince go by on their sled.  It was another perfect snow experience.

Snow also got me thinking about photography as a hobby.  Many years ago I lived in the country for a while.  Any trip anywhere involved a 30 mile trek through the farm country.  In the winter months I was starved for something to see, and I noticed the beauty in very minimalist patterns made by drifting snow and the shadows it cast.  I started to think about photography as a way to capture what I saw.

But last year after a long hard winter of not seeing the streets for months on end, I started to become soul sick of the color white.  I noticed that seeing snow this winter bothered me the same way, but since we haven’t had snow for months I did not think of it too much.  Yesterday, after our most recent snow I was driving along and I realized that I hate the look of snow.  I can’t stand to see the color white covering everything.  To heck with a landscape “blanketed in sparkling white purity”or whatever other poetic rhapsodizing people may do.  The cold isn’t the problem, nor is the wearing of extra layers and boots.  The problem is that annoying color white covering everything.  It reminds me of mold growing on a piece of bread, or mildew inside of a toilet bowl–completely unwanted and no good.  I’m so surprised to find myself feeling this way, and a little worried.  I have to find a way to make my peace with this newfound antipathy toward that annoying color white covering everything.

 

Author: jet197

A Spanish speaking elementary resource teacher, single mom with two grown kids and a pasión for the outdoors and books. I am a big curious question mark always pondering with a penchant for poetry.

9 thoughts on “On Snow”

  1. Well, that’s quite a shift in your perspective! Funny how that happened, isn’t it?

    I love how even your voice shifted in this piece. What started as poetic and soothing turned crass and more blunt. Your tone perfectly mirrored your perspective.

    Great Slice!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am still pondering your well-chosen words and will have to think on this some more. I have never lived where winter (and early spring) is (are) covered with snow. Whatever little we get in middle TN is quick in its passing. So I have never considered snow in this way: yet, I am sure my perspective would change if I were surrounded by it for months on end. Thanks for giving me something to think about!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Interesting how your words began as picturesque as one of your photographs … and then by the end, you ripped that winter landscape photo to shreds! Hopefully this snow won’t hang around too long and we will soon see tinges of green.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

