Waiting for Absolution

IMG_0200

The sky is heavy and the air is cold here

       You are lying: next to me in bed where

gray clouds sit leadenly pretending

you don’t know I’m still awake

how ugly is a late winter landscape heir to

       all my sins and past transgressions between

the time of dead leaves and broken branches

       a muddy ground trod upon and rutted as

my life I brought you scarred and hoping

     the promise of a single snowflake drifts

into my heart I welcomed you down where

         others will soon follow to gently caress even coldly cover

my exposed flesh is no more naked than my hope

               all the old life, virginal forgiveness tenderly received.

My Hope!  My heart grown heavy waiting.

Author: jet197

A Spanish speaking elementary resource teacher, single mom with two grown kids and a pasión for the outdoors and books. I am a big curious question mark always pondering with a penchant for poetry.

4 thoughts on “Waiting for Absolution”

Leave a Reply

