An Upstream Swimmer

IMG_0208

In my living room, above my fireplace, hangs a fossil installation of  Orthoceras.  It is  a genus of an extinct nautiloid cephalopod from the  Ordovician to Triassic ages and is 500 to 190 million years old.  My mind can’t even take in that amount of time.  But I’ll leave my musings on the brevity of life for another post, and tell you how I came by that unusual ornamentation.

My mom was a life long naturalist–as a matter of fact she met my father in a Natural History club in Cincinnati, Ohio.  She loved every rock, fossil and shell she could get her hands on.  She used to take the trolley to the Cincinnati Natural History Museum where she hung out with the museum director, Mr. Ralph Drury who she always called “Doc Drury”.  She even started her own Midget Museum.img_2408

Fast forward to when she was all grown up with four children.  She still loved collecting rocks and fossils, and we went on  many collecting trips with her.  Another thing that we always did together was to go to the DuPage County Fairgrounds every Memorial Day weekend where the ESCONI (Earth Science Club of Northren Illinois) held it’s display of absolutely breathtaking gems, minerals, fossils and jewelry.  Later, when I had my two children, we continued the tradition of going every year.

I finished college after my children were born.  It was an uphill battle and I appreciated all the help I got from my family to finish.  When I graduated my mom gave me as unusual and as unconventional a present as she was herself: a big collection of Orthoceras.

I love the sense of motion captured in these extinct ocean dwelling cephlopods.  She said it reminded her of me:  “An uphill swimmer.”

Author: jet197

A Spanish speaking elementary resource teacher, single mom with two grown kids and a pasión for the outdoors and books. I am a big curious question mark always pondering with a penchant for poetry.

9 thoughts on “An Upstream Swimmer”

  1. Oh my gosh, Janet, I love this. Some people would hang a picture above the fireplace. Not you.

    I love how this object let us all have a peek into your relationship with your mom and a really cool family story.

    Loved this one – really fun to read.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

