International Day of Women: The Fallen

I’m wearing my red today in solidarity of all the women in the world.  I’m not participating in the strike, but it is good to call to mind what would happen if it were possible to do that. I’m an educator–can you imagine if every educator went on strike?  How about health workers?  Women nursing their babies?  How about women giving birth?  Women have so many people’s very lives in their hands, not to mention just keeping society functioning.

What will wearing red do?  To begin with, it starts me, the wearer, thinking about the plight of women in the world.  The problems seem so entrenched and unchangeable, but we can make a difference.  I have to believe it; we all do.  I could quote statistics at you about the way women are mistreated, abused and marginalized in the world but I do not know all of them off the top of my head.  We all can pick one area that is important to us and get educated about the extent of the problem.  Then we can look for ways to support the change.

This morning I spent time putting on makeup because I have a meeting with people I don’t see very often, and I wanted to look as pretty as possible.  I wanted to be ornamental, but as I type this, I realize that I am more than an ornament.  I have a heart and mind and soul.  Men do not have to wear eyeliner and mascara to be taken seriously and acceptable.  I’m going to go in and wash off all of my makeup.  If you see me today tell me that I am beautiful.  I will smile and say “Thank you” and realize that you are talking about my soul.

The Fallen

IMG_0201

She was glass:

she fell.

Past the twinkling stars

of memory.

As beautiful,

as inevitable in that last tragic arc

as time.

Oh the ache of memories…

Oh the lonely rush of wind…

backward and upward.

And that sound?

Was it the sound of the last puzzle piece clicking into place

or the soft but final shattering

of her dreams?

She was, after all, only an ornament.

 

Author: jet197

A Spanish speaking elementary resource teacher, single mom with two grown kids and a pasión for the outdoors and books. I am a big curious question mark always pondering with a penchant for poetry.

14 thoughts on “International Day of Women: The Fallen”

  1. Oh, how I wish I would see you today! I’ll tell you anyway. You are beautiful.

    I often think the whole “color wearing” thing gets old, but you’re making me rethink that. You’re right, it does at least get us thinking about the issue.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I did not see you today, but I want to let you know that you are beautiful (soul and all). This piece touched me. As women, we do so much to be taken seriously..hair pulled back, makeup did neatly, stern voice, big girl panties pulled up. Many mistakes our kindness for weakness. Many think because we are made differently, we are not worthy. We are more than worthy…
    Great piece J

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I think it all starts with awareness, then conversations and thoughts and ideas to continue movements like this forward. Beautiful poem too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you very much! We have seen the problems in history helped by the actions of a few brave people. They are my inspiration for change being possible.

      Like

    1. This is a good idea. We are a lot more fortunate here in the United States than in many countries and it is important to remember to stand together. Thank you for your comment!

      Like

Leave a Reply

