Cardinal Life

 

img_0197I found this picture on the internet with an unknown artist.

 

Cardinal piercing red the air,

red my mind

redness seized upon, plucked from his branch,

and squeezed with cold-stiff fingers sinking

into feathers, meeting obstinacy

of breastbone there.

Red my hands

my breathing heavy in the air

pictured there my breath mixed

with his invisible last breath.

Crimson seeps,

warms my frozen fingers, drips heavily

to the ground and lift

my painted fingers brush lightly past

the face I own. Up into a shatteringly clear

blue sky my stained hands drift

cardinal-like with slowly stirring feathers

and there strain and flutter toward their new-born

cardinal life.

Author: jet197

A Spanish speaking elementary resource teacher, single mom with two grown kids and a pasión for the outdoors and books. I am a big curious question mark always pondering with a penchant for poetry.

3 thoughts on “Cardinal Life”

  1. Powerful! The pop of red is stunning … as your words are today. So happy to see you continuing to write daily!

    Like

  2. One of the great things about poetry is how anything can be an inspiration. You mentioned that the photo was from the internet. I am wondering which came first; the photo or the poem. The use of red and its synonyms as well there/their add to the depth of your writing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The poem came from a walk when I saw one just like in the picture. I had to hunt down a picture to illustrate what I saw. Thank you for reading and for commenting.

      Like

Leave a Reply

